Commitment issues…

 

I am so eating crow right now….

When I started this blog, I was gung-ho and ready to go! I dove into each assignment of the writing seminars with gusto, eagerly waiting for feedback and that ping! notification on my phone that someone liked or commented on a piece.

Well, the phone has been silent from that special tone I assigned to it. When I get my coffee in the mornings (and at mid-day and nights!), I sit down to complete assignments for work and school. Now when I hear a ping!, it reminds me that I have neglected a forum that is dear to me and which I committed to. No one forced me to, I readily accepted the challenge, vowing to myself and the blog that “I am a promising writer and I promise to write!”.

But life has happened. I thought that since this has been a life-long dream to publish my thoughts and this medium is allowing me to do that, at my own pace, in my own style, that I would readily capitalize on it. But it ain’t happening. I feel like I’ve neglected my ‘adopted child’, who I went after though others have questioned whether I would have time for it and to which I’ve responded (testily),”‘I’ll make time for it; it’s important to me”. Oh, if they could see me now!

So how do I re-bound? It’s been a short time since this blog was established and if I’m having trouble already, should I continue? Is my voice important to Blogosphere? How important is this blog to the development of my craft, as a platform for me to grow from? These are questions I’ve asked myself. I believe that I should write and not place so much pressure on myself to publish. However I also believe it’s important to commit to it and to actually to publish at least one per week so I can establish a rhythm.  I question though, if I will be able to produce anything worthy of reading if I force myself to and not allow myself some creative freedom.When I started, I had a little time to play with but now my other commitments are back, full on.

I believe if something is important to you and allows you to feel fulfilled in some manner, you should stick to it. Stick-tuitiveness ( a word I coined some time ago) describes a trait where you commit to something you desire to do but that you don’t have to. I’ve decided that I have it. I got this.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Commitment issues…

  1. Please don’t give this blessing up, do what you can when you can as well all understand life and its obligations.

    Pace yourself!

  2. a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; }

    /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com

    That’s why we need writers cause as you can see in my comment I can’t write need a grammar lesson.Sent from my BlackBerry® PlayBook™www.blackberry.comFrom: “The Resilient One” <comment-reply@wordpress.com>To: “wellnesswithmarciac@hotmail.com” <wellnesswithmarciac@hotmail.com>Sent: August 24, 2014 7:55 PMSubject: [New post] Commitment issues…

    resilientone14 posted: ”

     

    I am so eating crow right now….

    When I started this blog, I was gung-ho and ready to go! I dove into each assignment of the writing seminars with gusto, eagerly waiting for feedback and that ping! notification on my phone that someone l”

  3. Ahh don’t stop now. Your blog is one of the few i really enjoy reading and i look forward to your posts to appear on my reader.

    Life happens and we end up having over arching, conflicting tasks to get through. Like you said if you force the creative process it might be detrimental after all. Remember this is your own craft, you make the rules and thus write/publish at your own pace. X

Leave a Reply

