Writing 101: Free falling?

Its hard for me to write without thinking about it for a bit.

Yet, I’ve found since I’ve been writing on here that the ones that get the most responses and encouraging feedback are those that I write without overthinking the process. Not thinking ‘Is this being said correctly?’, “Is this really what I want to say?, or “This doesn’t sound right!”.

So today, though I’m not one for following instructions much, I’m doing just as the writing prompt says: I’m typing for twenty minutes, on whatever comes to mind.

Interestingly, when I clicked on the blog, I was venting on how some practitioners that I hire to do stuff for me makes me want to use some choice words at times (I hire people to custom tailor clothes for me ). I’m cussing under my breath because every time I call I get some excuse or the other. Right now, one I just called, isn’t picking up and I know it’s that my stuff isn’t ready … uughhh! I don’t know, but I find some self employed practitioners in certain fields are the LEAST dependable people! ( I also lack patience but it has been months now!)Stuff for another blog post…I digress…

So I’m posting instead about my control issues informing how I post or write. Is it really control issues though? I think we all want to put our best foot forward in whatever we do. I’m somewhat a perfectionist and want to ensure that when I do any thing at all, that I truly give it my best shot and not half-ass my way through. Mediocrity is not the way to go.

I do find though, despite my best efforts, when I read them (my posts) after publishing, I could’ve done it another way or added something more to draw my readers in. Hmmm, perhaps they were written just as they were supposed to? To my fellow publishers: do you ever second guess what you write? Or think it could have been better written from another angle? Maybe its just me – tell me what you think!

I don’t think it’s quite twenty minutes – but I think this is it. Looking forward to these challenges and growing through them!

4 thoughts on “Writing 101: Free falling?

  1. Don’t beat yourself up. I always find myself second guessing what I write. It’s part of wanting to put your best foot forward. I think for me it’s also about wanting people to understand my point of view. And trust me, I know what you mean about wanting to use some choice words for so called professional people. Great read! Thanks.

  2. I often leave my posts in the drafts because I am not sure about them or haven’t gotten my point across or had to leave in the middle and never get around to finish them… I call it perfectionism 🙂

Leave a Reply

